…and so let the rejection letters begin!

As of 5Am this morning, Earldust has been pitched to an agent.

Now that you digested that good news, I’m sadly obliged to drown you in a cold bath of reality: it doesn’t necessarily bring me any closer to publication than I was yesterday. Why? It’s statistically highly likely that the agent will reject it. Agents reject the majority of material they receive, and for many different reasons. Some may feel that the submitted material is sloppy, their portfolios may already be full of other 20-something year old penniless students, or they may feel just feel that there isn’t a demand for this type of novel at the moment. It truly is a case of “hope for the best, prepare for the worst.”

Nonetheless it still is a step forward in its own right. Though I’ll continue to periodically scour this manuscript for typos over the next few weeks/months, Earldust is going to still have the same structure in ten years time as it does today. In other words – it’s finished, which brings its own feeling of relief. I can now focus on other writing projects which I’ve neglected for too long.

And there is another thing I can feel positive about in terms of my overall prospects – there is only one direction I can possibly move from here – forwards. I’m still at a fairly flexible age, where even if I fail to get published, I can still pursue another career, and return to writing at another date – possibly after retirement. Unlike many less fortunate writers out there, rejection letters won’t close any doors I haven’t accounted for already.

If Earldust isn’t accepted by any agent in Ireland and the United Kingdom – or if it is accepted by an agent and rejected by publishers, then I’ll make it available for free online. So one way or another, you’ll be able to read it in the next two years. And in the end, isn’t that the main thing?

  1. WOW!! You’ve written a NOVEL!! That’s amazing. If I ever manage the same, that in itself will be a life goal achieved, regardless of whether any agent accepts it! So you should be very, very proud. Also, if it’s any consolation, the best stuff never seems to get published easily! Keep at it. And you’re right to be pragmatic. Who knows, the dull 9-5 of a sustaining office job might feed inspiration at night 🙂

    • Thanks Kate! It’s actually the second novel that I’ve written, but the first shall never see the light of day, so I suppose that in that sense it’s a first.Writing a novel is just a matter of sitting down and continuing along one somewhat convoluted and meandering train of thought from the first paragraph until the last – despite your growing misgivings about the logic behind said train of thought, and where it is leading you.

      I’m actually banking on the dull 9-5 office job providing me with a good pension so that I can go back to writing after retirement. However who knows, you might even be right about that.Some books could just appear on the shelves of Hodges Figgis under a pseudonym, in which the primary antagonist bears striking resemblance to my boss. 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

